Pages

Sunday, 9 August 2015

Author Interview: J. Frank James


About the Author:

J. Frank James has a passion for writing, and he certainly has the knowledge and experience to write realistic crime thrillers, thanks to his extensive background in law. Jim attended law school, where he was a member of the law review. He even went on to pass the state bar and started his own law practice that specialized in complex litigation. Jim's experience in law helps lend credibility to his crime fiction books. He has also traveled extensively and gains inspiration for his crime thrillers from his travels. From observing other cultures and gaining new experiences, Jim is able to infuse new life into his books and develop believable characters that readers can identify with.

J. Frank James writes crime thriller novels that are gripping and suspenseful. In 2013, he began publishing The Lou Malloy Crime Series, which is expected to span 20 books. The titles include The Run Begins, Dead Money Run, Only Two Cats, Blue Cat in Paradise, Rainbow Games, Two Birds To Kill, Last Flamingo, and Finders, Keepers.  J. Frank James creates all of his own book covers. To learn more, go to http://www.jfrankjamesbooks.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19406070-dead-money-run

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jfrankjamesbooks

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jfj_books

***

Do you plan everything or just let the story flow?

I am not one to do a lot of planning. I think about a subject for a long time. However, for instance, Dead Money Run was a book that just came right out of the blocks and another book titled Voodoo Moon Rising was written about 8 years ago. The protagonist is an Indigo Marsh. So, I guess the answer is, it all depends. Generally, I am not sure when lightning is going to strike me.

Do your characters ever want to take over the story?

My characters do that all the time. There is nothing I can do about it so I don’t fight it.

What is your favourite food?

I like Cajun food and most Mexican. The hotter the better. However, I can’t take some of the Indian dishes. There are some things even my stomach will not do.

Are you a morning person or a night owl?

I am a night owl. I like the solitude of the night. Also I like being somewhere I can get a sense of nature. That is why I do a lot of my writing at the coast where my wife and I have a home. When I wake up in the morning, Jake, my 90 pound boxer and I sit on the deck and watch the dolphins swim up the river that flows in the back of my home. Every now and then a family of otters will grace me with their presence. Believe me when I say it is heaven.

Do distant places feature in your books?

Yes, I like to incorporate places that my wife and I have been. So far I have been in a couple dozen countries and six of the seven continents.

Do you listen to music while writing?

Yes, I like to listen to the Rolling Stones, Phil Collins, Jerry Lee Lewis and just about every MoTown singer that was ever on the planet.

Could you tell us a bit about your latest release?

I am currently working on The Lou Malloy Crime Series, which is expected to span 20 books. The series follows Lou Malloy, a hardened criminal who did 15 years in prison for the theft of $15 million, and his partner Hilary Kelly, a private investigator. Dead Money Run is the first book in The Lou Malloy Crime Series. Genres: Crime / Fiction / Mystery / Thriller

What have you learned about writing and publishing since you first started?

I think the first thing I have learned is how to be patient, not only with myself, but with others trying to help me in this process. I have also learned that I have a lot to learn. I have always been one of those who ignored the torpedoes and just went full speed ahead. To become a good writer requires a bit more in developing a keener since of navigation. As a writer it is not only important to know where you are going, but also to know how you got there.

Is there anything you would do differently?

There is always a thing or two that you would have done differently, but I doubt if I would have done them. I have always been one of those people who judged how deep the water was by simply jumping in.

Who, or what, if anything has influenced your writing?

I would say that Ernest Hemingway was most influential. After reading his Old Man and the Sea, it was very obvious that it was not only important as a writer to be aware not only as to what you said, but how you said it.

What's your favourite book or who is your favourite writer?

Obviously one of my favorite books is Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway. To be a writer requires that the person be alone. Hemingway’s character in his book embodies that trait and in fact over comes it by showing the people in his little village that he is still a great fisherman and man. In life there can be no greater achievement than being able to prove your self-worth.

Blurb of your latest release or coming soon book



Dead Money Run Synopsis:

Lou Malloy learns of his sister's death right before he is released from prison, having served 15 years for the theft of $15 million from an Indian casino. He wants two things: to keep the $15 million, which no one has been able to find, and to track down and punish whoever killed his sister.

Lou Malloy teams up with Hilary Kelly, a private investigator. In no time, Lou has found the hidden $15 million, recovered guns and ammunition hidden with the money, and murdered two low-level mobsters and fed them to the crocodiles.

As the body count rises, the story grows more complex and his sister's death becomes more mysterious.

Praise for Dead Money Run:

"Dead Money Run is a hard-boiled thriller. It is a book of short chapters and almost unrelenting excitement as Lou and Hillary Kelly avoid cops, kill mobsters, and try to unravel the mystery of who killed Lou's sister and why.” - Reviewed by Wally Wood at BookPleasures.com

Fans of James Ellroy and Elmore Leonard are going to love James’ ingenious capers, devious characters and wry humor. The entire book goes down like a strong yet smooth shot of bourbon.” - Reviewed by BestThrillers.com

"Dead Money Run by J. Frank James is a pure adrenalin rush from the very beginning. Yes, it is very violent with some strong language, but filled with excitement that keeps the reader wanting to know what comes next." - Reviewed by Paul Johnson for Readers' Favorite

J. Frank James did a very nice job constructing a fast moving plot for Dead Money Run. It is intriguing and thrilling. However, the reader should be prepared for a bit of gruesome violence. Yet, the violence doesn’t override the mystery and suspense within the story. Hold on to whatever it is that you’re sitting on as you read this story, because James is about to take you on a wild ride.” – Reviewed by Red City Review

No comments:

Post a Comment